CUET 101: Everything You Need to Know About CUET

An all-encompassing guide answering all your CUET-related questions to help you #PrepareWell.

What is CUET?

Introduced in 2021, Common University Entrance Test, or CUET, is a national-level entrance exam. CUET is organized by National Test Agency, or NTA, and it is valid for admission in Undergraduate, Integrated, Postgraduate, Diploma, Certification courses and Research Programmes across 45 Central Universities of India including University of Delhi, Jawaharlal Nehru University, University of Hydrabad, Banaras Hindu University and more.

CUET Exam Structure

CUET is conducted in an online mode as CBT – Computer Based Test with objective multiple-choice questions. For every correct answer you’ll be awarded 5 marks, however, there is 1 mark deduction for every incorrect answer.

The exam structure is divided into 3 sections namely, Languages, Domain-Specific Subjects and General Test.

Section                                                                  Subject/Test                                                                                                No. of  questions to be attempted                       Duration of exam                                                                                                                                                                                            
Languages Section A - 13  languages to  choose from 40 out of 50 in each language opted  45 minutes per language 
Section B - 20  languages to  choose from
Domian-  Specific Subjects 27 domain subjects to choose from - Candidate can  choose upto 6  domains  40 out of 50 in each domain  opted 

60 minutes -  Accountancy, Economics, Physics, Computer  Science/Information Practices,  Mathematics(Applied&Core), and Chemistry

45 minutes - Rest of the subjects 

General Test General aptitude test 50 out of 60  60 minutes